Facebook helps FBI bust cybercriminals blamed for $850 million losses

Facebook helps FBI bust cybercriminals blamed for $850 million losses

 

Investigators led by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and aided by Facebook Inc, have busted an international criminal ring that infected 11 million computers around the world and caused more than $850 million in total losses in one of the largest cybercrime hauls in history.

The FBI, working in concert with the world’s largest social network and several international law enforcement agencies, arrested 10 people it says infected computers with “Yahos” malicious software, then stole credit card, bank and other personal information.

Facebook’s security team assisted the FBI after “Yahos” targeted its users from 2010 to October 2012, the U.S. federal agency said in a statement on its website. The social network helped identify the criminals and spot affected accounts, it said.

Its “security systems were able to detect affected accounts and provide tools to remove these threats,” the FBI said.

Gets 'biz'y

Facebook helps FBI bust cybercriminals blamed for $850 million losses

 
According to the agency, which worked also with the U.S. Department of Justice, the accused hackers employed the “Butterfly Botnet“. Botnets are networks of compromised computers that can be used in a variety of cyberattacks on personal computers.

The FBI said it nabbed 10 people from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, New Zealand, Peru, the United Kingdom, and the United States, executed numerous search warrants and conducted a raft of interviews.

It estimated the total losses from their activities at more than $850 million, without elaborating.

Hard data is tough to come by, but experts say cybercrime is on the rise around the world as PC and mobile computing become more prevalent and as more and more financial transactions shift online, leaving law enforcement, cybersecurity professionals and targeted corporations increasingly hard-pressed to spot and ward off attacks.

Comments
10 Responses to “Facebook helps FBI bust cybercriminals blamed for $850 million losses”
  1. Liliana says:

    This is a comment to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I discovered this page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the front page of search results. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your site: http://voxseo.com/traffic/. I managed to get over 10,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  2. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  3. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!|

  4. Gregory Despain says:

    I just want to tell you that I’m very new to blogging and truly loved you’re blog. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You really come with fabulous articles. Kudos for sharing with us your web page.

  5. Andrew A. Sailer says:

    I simply want to tell you that I am just new to blogs and truly loved this web page. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You certainly have wonderful stories. Regards for sharing your web page.

  6. Luigi Fulk says:

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogging and site-building and truly enjoyed this website. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have incredible articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  7. Call me pinterest master says:

    Is this ok to add this article to my facebook fan page, i think they would love this stuff

  8. hemorrhoids says:

    I blog frequently and I really appreciate your information. This article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  9. Build Authority Site says:

    I do believe all the concepts you’ve presented to your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too brief for starters. May just you please prolong them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

  10. Warframe hack says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.

    Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 10,686 hits
  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events

